‘And,’ the Question

Posted: August 11, 2012 by ajbrown in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I’m an experimental type when it comes to writing. I don’t like the same old boring styles that everyone else uses, and I absolutely abhor action only stories. I like stories to have a feel to them, a mood.

When I experiment grammar goes out the window, as do a few other rules. One of those things—not necessarily a rule—that gets tossed during those moments of experimentation is the word ‘and.’

Take, for instance this sentence:

“What’s wrong, Camden?” she asked, and approached my bed.

When I’m playing within the world of writing, I might write it like this:

“What’s wrong, Camden?” she asked, approached my bed.

Still, in other instances, I might write:

”What’s wrong, Camden?” she asked, approaching my bed.

My lovely wife prefers the first way. What about you? How do you feel about the use of the word ‘and.’ I think it’s just an extra word that isn’t always needed. Cate prefers them in their normal place. Again, what about you, the readers out there?

Yes, this is a legitimate question, and I would love your input.

Why?

Simple: If the way I prefer writing is confusing for you, the reader, then I need to not write it that way. The last thing a writer wants to do is take the reader out of a story. We want you to zip right along without stopping.

So, help me figure out how to write these sentences: the way I like to or the way you are comfortable reading them.

Thanks for your input. For now, I’m off to edit.

Comments
  1. I tend to prefer the third style myself. Possibly because I’m a little paranoid when it comes to my writing, and the overuse of words. ‘That’, ‘and’, these sort of words can end up peppering texts so much that they saturate the work. I’m always trying to make sure that if someone read a piece that I have written, then they would be struck by the thought of counting up certain words because they appear so often.

  2. I think it depends on the events taking place. Extra words are fun and useful when drawing out the suspense, but once that suspense is broken and the real action begins, it can be very effective to omit that little word. Almost like saying “No time for unnecessary words. The %#+! just hit the fan!!”

Leave a Reply

