My Wife Believes In Me and Other Notes

Posted: April 9, 2012 by ajbrown in Uncategorized, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

My wife believes in me. I’m not sure why, but I’m not about to asks questions. I just like the fact that she believes in me. She keeps me going, keeps me smiling—and for those who have known me for a long time, you know I’m not a big smiler, but when she’s around, the smiles are, too.

The old saying is something like: ‘Behind every successful man is a great woman.’ A lot of men will argue that, but the smart ones won’t. I’m not successful and I’m not all that smart, but I have a great woman and she doesn’t stand behind me, she stands beside me.

If not for my wife, Catherine (though she prefers to go by Cate), I would have quit writing a long time ago. No one has ever encouraged me the way she has. No one else has said, ‘keep going,’ or ‘you’ll get there one day.’ No one else has had to listen to me talk about it as much as she has either. I’m surprised she hasn’t started charging for advice. Five cents, please.

For all you male writers out there, if you have a wife who supports your efforts and stands by you even though you absolutely drive her bonkers with your constant chatter about writing this or that or the other (and we all know there is a LOT of the other), tell her thank you. Because, whether you believe it or not, the support your woman gives you is worth more than any book contract you can sign.

So, to my wife, Cate, thank you for always supporting me and putting up with my constant writer’s gab (and all my other issues as well).

***

Recently, this article surfaced out on the blogosphere:

Q&A Why Write Amazon Reviews

Let’s couple that link with this one:

Amazon Reader Reviews: 12 Things Everybody and His Grandmother Needs to Know

Both of these articles are about doing reviews and why readers should do them.

If you will allow me, I would like to quote something from the second of these two links:

It… means that Amazon reviews, which were only mildly significant three years ago, now have a make-or-break impact on an author’s sales.

Yes, the reviews (or lack of) on Amazon have a great effect on how a book sells or even if it sells. So do the ‘likes’ and the ‘tags,’ which you, the readers can also add.

I encourage all of you out there to consider reviewing books that you purchase from Amazon. It can help the writer tremendously. Also, remember the stars thing. If you give a book glowing praise, then your star rating should reflect the same high praise. On the other hand, if you don’t particularly like a book, tell the writer why. Don’t just say, hey, this book is lousy. It sucks. That doesn’t help the writer and it only deters other readers from considering the book. Be objective in your reviews, and no, you don’t have to go full out and write an essay on the books.

It’s not all that much work and it can help the struggling writer.

Some of you may have just rolled your eyes and I bet you’re thinking, ‘this is all just a plea to get more sells and reviews.’

You’re not too far off in your assessment, but it’s really the other way around. It’s about garnering more reviews to help with sells, and not just for me, but other writers as well.

If you liked a book, or even if you didn’t like one, share your thoughts—it is more helpful than you think it is.

One caveat: If you leave a bad review, there is no reason to be mean. Be honest and sincere, but keep the meanness. Those aren’t helpful, only hurtful. Helpful reviews are the honest and sincere ones, whether they are good or bad.

Now you can roll your eyes.

I now ask those of you out there who have read Along the Splintered Path, to consider reviewing it, consider liking it, consider adding your own tags or like the tags already there.

Don’t just do it for me, but for other writers as well. We all appreciate the help.

Until we meet again, my friends…

Leave a Reply

