My Lazy Morning Brain

Posted: February 12, 2012 by ajbrown in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m drawing a blank today.

Literally, there is very little in my head. Yeah, okay. Hahahaha and all that. I heard that little comment: There’s never been too much in your head.

Yuk yuk yuk.

Seriously, today I slept in—much needed rest was had. Normally I’m up early, even on the weekends and before the sun comes up at that. This gives me plenty of time to think and write and promote, but getting up a solid two and a half hours later than usual seems to have zapped what few thoughts I have each morning.

Maybe my brain is still asleep. Maybe we should check, eh?

Hold on a sec.

Knock knock knock

Hey, anyone awake in there?

Crickets

Hmmm… is there anyone in there at all?

More crickets.

Ahem.

So, you see, I have nothing today. It appears my brain has left the building.

Could be that I’m a redneck and I’m about to do something really stupid. If so, you will know when you hear me say, ‘Hey y’all, watch this.’

Could be my brain is just tired from all the thinking I have forced on it with promoting my e-book, Along the Splintered Path, promoting others and the writing of my latest W.I.P., Her Cure.

Could be my brain is just lazy…

Hahahaha… Very funny.

Could be my heart needs to grow three sizes today…

So, I’ve sat here for a while, arms folded on my desk, the keyboard mocking me, the little blinking cursor laughing at me. There it goes again. Laughing… laughing… laughing…

I have plenty I can do. I can put together another promotion blog for a friend or two. I could write on Her Cure or even work on Dredging Up Memories. I think I’m at a turning point for Walker and things could become quite explosive in the series. I could work on an interview. Oh, no I can’t. I don’t have anymore on the plate right now and am waiting on the replies from a couple of others that I can do nothing with until I get them.

So, what to do? I think I will update the blog. I have been working on this for a while now, trying to get things up to date and trying to make sure all the links work. I’ve added some folks in the T-Cell Transfer and there are a few new interviews in the Donor Center. Check out the publications while you are here. I’ve added links to the ones where there are still links for. Some of them lead straight to the stories. Others of them lead to pages where you can purchase the book where some of my works reside.

Oh, I republished the three stories I put out early last year on Smashwords. If you want to check them out, follow the links below:

Dirty Old Town

The Woman Who Loved the Red Stucco House

Lost Art

I’ve thought about rewriting several stories that appeared in a contest and posting them up as an e-book collection on Smashwords, but I don’t know yet. Since they are all published stories and the zine is no longer around, I see no harm in doing so. Since they’ll be rewritten anyway, they might end up significantly longer than the original works.

I could submit a few pieces out to other publications. Both of those things will require me to engage my brain, but as we have all taken note of earlier, it seems it has disappeared from my skull.

See, I have nothing today.

Oh well…

Before I leave and continue to do nothing (since my brain clearly seems to be either asleep or rebelling) I want to thank each of you out there who has either read one (or several) of my stories and who have picked up a copy of Along the Splintered Path. I appreciate it. I really do. As I’ve stated on numerous occasions, without the readers, the writers are nothing. So, thank you for reading my work.

Well, I guess that last bit makes this blog more about thanking the readers than about nothing after all.

If you have anything you would like for me to cover in the future or if there is something you would like for me to add to Type AJ Negative, please leave a comment and I’ll consider it. Or drop me a line at Facebook

Or you can find me on Twitter (am I the only one that thinks the saying ‘Tweet me’ has some vulgar connotations to it?) at: @AJBrown36

Now, I’m off to work on the blog some more. Come visit and browse about. Leave comments on the things you see. Share with the masses, follow if you will. I promise I will not hack anyone to death…

Until we meet again, my friends…

Leave a Reply

