I Want My Toy In My Happy Meal…

Posted: April 7, 2011 by ajbrown in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

This caught my eye this morning: A bill is on the table in New York to have toys banned from Happy Meals to discourage kids from eating fatty foods. Seriously. I’m not making this up. You can read the article here: Whack Job Wishes to Ban Toys From Happy Meals

Go ahead, read the article. I have time. Go ahead. Really. I’ll wait.

Okay, put your e-readers down and give the question to the following answer:

Who appears to be slightly overweight in the article?

Who is Leroy Comrie, the individual pushing the bill? That’s right.

The man actually blames his eating habits on McDonald’s because he ‘gobbled down Happy Meals…’ Hey, Leroy, I have an original idea for you: change your eating habits.

My question is:

Whose fault is it, Mr. Politician Man, that you ‘gobbled down’ fast food as a kid? It wasn’t mine. It wasn’t my children’s. Maybe, just maybe… and I could be wrong here, but I don’t think so… maybe it’s your fault that you ‘gobbled down’ (yes, I am going to overuse that term today) fatty foods as a kid. Maybe it’s your parents’ fault for not saying, Leroy, oh Leroy, you may not have burgers and fries and a toy today. Maybe Leroy should have been a little more active as a child, went outside a little more often and ran around like the other kids.

I know I’m being a tad sarcastic here, but, why tell anyone else what they can eat when you are overweight yourself? Yeah, yeah, I get it: your weight is an issue so you were moved to push this bill. So? Michael Jackson once sang about making a change. It was called Man in the Mirror and he clearly states that he wants to make a change and that he’s going to start with that man in the mirror. Hmm… there’s an idea.

No message could have been any clearer. If you want to make the world a better place, take a look at yourself then make a change.

Maybe I shouldn’t be this way. Maybe the guy has good intentions with this bill. Maybe he really does want to help kids eat healthy. That’s mighty big of him and maybe he should be commended. But, honestly, a bill–one that he is pushing to become a law in New York? That’s taking the choice away from the consumer. I don’t care who you are or what your circumstance is, I don’t want my right to make choices taken away from me. If I want to get my son a Happy Meal with chicken, fries, tea and a TOY, then I should be able to. Our government already has too much control over stuff they have no business controlling. Why take away the choice of what to eat?

As a parent, it is MY responsibility to make sure my children eat healthy or eat Happy Meals. My son loves Happy Meals. My daughter won’t touch them. Guess what, neither of them are fat. My son plays baseball and my daughter plays soccer. They run practically all the time, being full of energy and all. They are very active children.

Mr. Comrie, you had a choice as a kid. Your parents had a choice when you were a kid. Why take that same choice away from others? If anything, why don’t you hold yourself accountable for your own actions, then maybe hit the gym a couple of times a week. Look in the mirror and if you want to make a change, start with yourself.

It could be just me, but come on man…

It’s almost lunch time where I’m at and I hear a French fry salad calling me, complete with melted cheese, bacon and chili. Yeah, lots of calories, but guess what? It’s my choice and that’s something I don’t want taken away from me…

Comments
  1. Shanna says:

    I watched this pretty interesting documentary called “Fathead” which this computer programmer made as a response to Morgan Spurlock’s “Super Size Me.” In it he talks about how 1) McDonald’s would sell steamed broccoli if that’s what people wanted because they’re after the buck, they just sell us what we want, and 2) that actually most parents have a hard time getting their kids to eat mcdonald’s anyway! They want the toy, and if you’re actually at the McD’s, they want to play! I know I usually end up tossing half the kids’ food away, and normally that’s the worst of the meal: the fries.

    So… Leroy’s just an idiot. And I’m with you, AJ. No one better take away my right to choose. I cannot stand the idea of sin taxing and hate to see it go into sin laws! Just what we need, Prohibition for McDonalds, right? Bootleg burgers and fries with TOYS all the way!

  2. Shanna says:

    Oh, and what I find most ridiculous isn’t even McDonald’s. It’s the school lunches these days. I don’t know about other folks, but at my kid’s last school, and since it was a pretty good one I can only imagine it’s the same or worse here at their new, slightly downgraded school, the school actually counts the toppings for a burger — shredded lettuce, tomato, and two pickle slices — as a side salad. So, effectively, the kid put that on the burger, but it’s still a side. Can you believe that?? Much less that my elementary school kids were allowed to choose whatever they want — even just a sandwich and chips and nothing else. But still got charged for the full meal, too. So, I mean.. they want reform??? Go finish the school lunch system before they start talking about after school parental meals. Hell, at least the kid is being made to eat since he’s with his parents. When I’d eat with my kids, I’d see other kids who barely touched their lunches, each time I went!!

Leave a Reply

